How to watch every mcu movie and TV shows in perfect order


Here’s a guide for watching every Marvel Cinematic Universe movie and TV show in chronological order, from Captain America: The First Avenger through to Spider-Man: Far From Home.

Across over a decade and a frankly stupid number of films, TV shows, web series, and one-shots, the Marvel Cinematic Universe has sprawled in size, and even for the most ardent Marvel fans it’s a serious challenge to a) actually watch everything, and b) keep your head around the timeline.

With that in mind, we’ve done our best to put together a chronological timeline of the Marvel movies, shows, and more, so you know which order to watch the Marvel movies in. For the moment, watching them in chronological order arguably makes more sense than watching in the jumbled release date order.


There are a couple of other disclaimers. First up, the timeline gets more and more complex as it goes on, so it gets harder to order the films perfectly.

For example, Doctor Strange begins just before Captain America: Civil War, but takes a time jump and ends way after it, while Black Panther kicks off shortly after Civil War, but the whole story likely plays out before the bulk of Doctor Strange, making it trickier to say which to watch first.

It doesn’t facilitate that Marvel conjointly kind of bust its own timeline. There are a few little inconsistencies dotted around the place, but the most egregious is Spider-Man: Homecoming, which claims to take place eight years after the New York attack in the first Avengers. That would set the film in 2020 – two years after 2018’s Avengers: Infinity War.

It’s a pretty minor gaffe in the scheme of things, but it’s a reminder not to take the MCU’s chronological timeline too seriously – even Marvel itself can’t keep it all straight, so as long as you watch things in about the right order you’ll be fine. Oh, and if you want the visual cliff notes, Marvel has now released every single post-credit scene up to Endgame (including Captain Marvel’s) on order in one giant Twitter thread, so you’ll get back each very little tease as they designed the MCU up.


Marvel has since tried to mend that by issue its own official timeline for the flicks within the book Marvel Studios: the first 10 Years, which does its best to give specific years for once the assorted films square measure set, and particularly reigning Homecoming’s place in the timeline:

1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
1995: Captain Marvel
2010: Iron Man
2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor
2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 3
2013: Thor: The Dark World
2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man
2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming
2016/2017: Doctor Strange
2018: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War, Ant-Man & the Wasp
2019: Captain Marvel, Avengers Endgame, Spider-man: Far from home.


So without further ado, here’s our chronological ordering of the Marvel film universe as it stands right now, taking into account Marvel’s official timeline. The films are in italics, to make it easier if you only care about them and aren’t fussed about keeping the TV shows straight too.

We’ve also tried our best to split everything up into Marvel’s ‘phases’, but there are some grey areas: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 was made within Phase Three, but is set almost immediately after its predecessor, Captain Marvel was one of the final Phase Three films but is set before most
of section One, and a few of the TV shows sit awkwardly between the various moving picture phases.

So this a list of marvel cinematic universe movies by following this list a fan of MCU movies can watch every movie in a proper order.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *